A Different Kind of Blog

news and things sacred and irreverent put together by opinionated people.

Archive for December 21st, 2008

Baghdad celebrates first public Christmas

Posted by kayms99 on December 21, 2008

t1home_christms_candle_cnn1By Jill Dougherty
CNN

BAGHDAD, Iraq (CNN) — From a distance, it looks like an apparition: a huge multi-colored hot-air balloon floating in the Baghdad sky, bearing a large poster of Jesus Christ. Below it, an Iraqi flag.

Welcome to the first-ever public Christmas celebration in Baghdad, held Saturday and sponsored by the Iraqi Interior Ministry. Once thought to be infiltrated by death squads, the Ministry now is trying to root out sectarian violence — as well as improve its P.R. image. Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in News, Politics | 9 Comments »

THE GLOBAL ELITE

Posted by tothewire on December 21, 2008

golbaleliteindex_dl-dynamiclead

Wonder who they are? Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in Business, News, Politics | 4 Comments »

Search for Caylee turns to prosecution

Posted by kayms99 on December 21, 2008

ap_fla_anthony_081212_mn(CNN) — Now that Caylee Anthony’s remains have been identified, the search for the Florida toddler turns into a prosecution of her mother.

Casey Anthony, 22, is accused of killing her daughter. Investigators say her alibi didn’t check out.

Although Orange County, Florida, Medical Examiner Jan Garavaglia said Friday she could not determine how Caylee died, she concluded the death was a homicide.

The child’s mother, Casey Anthony, 22, faces charges including murder in the disappearance and death of Caylee, who was 2 when she vanished last summer. Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in Crime, News | 9 Comments »

As Outlook Dims, Obama Expands Recovery Plans

Posted by tothewire on December 21, 2008

Barack Obama, naming picks for top posts last week in Chicago, has told his aides to be bold in addressing economic troubles.

Barack Obama, naming picks for top posts last week in Chicago, has told his aides to be bold in addressing economic troubles.

WASHINGTON — Faced with worsening forecasts for the economy, President-elect Barack Obama is expanding his economic recovery plan and will seek to create or save 3 million jobs in the next two years, up from a goal of 2.5 million jobs set just last month, several advisers to Mr. Obama said Saturday. Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in Business, News, Politics | 18 Comments »

White House Philosophy Stoked Mortgage Bonfire

Posted by lawman2 on December 21, 2008

In June 2002, President Bush spoke in Atlanta to unveil a plan to increase minority homeownership.

In June 2002, President Bush spoke in Atlanta to unveil a plan to increase minority homeownership.

We can put light where there’s darkness, and hope where there’s despondency in this country. And part of it is working together as a nation to encourage folks to own their own home.” — President Bush, Oct. 15, 2002 Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in Politics | 2 Comments »

Embracing Our Dying

Posted by lawman2 on December 21, 2008

My wife started to post this, but didn’t.  I found it, and feel it should be posted.  I am not sure she has finished it as she went to lay down.   We will not be taking our vacation as we are needed here for the time being.  BUT we will not be able to post, as we will be with her family for the most part.

Tonight my wife called her parents to let them know we wouldn’t be able to be there for Christmas, while she was on the phone she started crying and I first thought “Oh great her dad is giving her the ol’ guilt trip crap again…” but I was surprised when she handed the phone to me and even more surprised to find it was her mother on the other end of the line. Her mother calmly told me this would most likely be her last Christmas to spend with her daughter, and would really appreciate my understanding her selfishness on asking us to put off our vacation until a later date. Then she apologized for inconveniencing me.  

I have complained about my wife’s family in the past, but I do have a lot of respect for them.  Her mother reminds me of my wife in so many ways.  They both are quiet, soft spoken, beautiful and little women. After reading the guilt ridden not complete post of my wifes I feel the need to say sorry to her, and to her family.  My mother in law is dear to my heart, and I am sorry she was worried about inconveniencing me.  I am sorry she felt she was being selfish by asking for us to stay home for Christmas. I am sorry that my wife felt like she needed to explain and defend more of her faith to me at a time like this. BUT most of all… I am sorry that I planned this trip really at this time of year to piss her family off.  I know how important Christmas is to my wife’s family.  I don’t feel guilt very often, but my heart feels heavy with it tonight. 

I was really surprised to see this post as my wife is a bit of a private person.  Below is what my wife started to post: Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in Just A Caveman, Religion, Uncategorized | 8 Comments »

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers