A Different Kind of Blog

news and things sacred and irreverent put together by opinionated people.

Anchorbabe Email Hacker Sentenced

Posted by tothewire on November 25, 2008

15050498A popular US newsreader who admitted hacking into the email account of a young rival nicknamed “Anchorbabe” has been spared jail.

Larry Mendte,  51, said he began secretly opening 36-year-old Alycia Lane‘s inbox after he jealously believed her success was threatening his position.

He then leaked several of Ms Lane’s personal emails to the media, including a message about a sexy bikini shot of herself she sent to a married former colleague.

The man’s wife intercepted the email, her reply was published in the New York gossip columns and Miss Lane was dubbed “Anchorbabe”.

A Philadelphia judge sentenced Mendte to three years probation, with six months of home confinement and 250 hours of community service.

Speaking in court, the presenter – who pleaded guilty to hacking in August – said: “I made my job too important.

“In believing that I was protecting the wellbeing of my children and my family, I put them both in jeopardy.”

Mendte apologised to Emmy award-winning Ms Lane, his former co-presenter at KYW news, a CBS affiliate, and she gave a confidential victim-impact statement in court.

 

I felt I was in trouble. My career, my future, my family’s future was in trouble. And, this is where I got into more trouble, federal trouble.

Former news presenter Larry Mendte

 

Mendte’s prying allegedly began after he discovered Ms Lane was earning £520,000 – some £53,000 more than he was paid for their evening news bulletin.

“My role at the station was still being diminished when Alycia told me during an argument on the set that she (was) the rising star and that I was ’50 and on my way out’,” Mendte said in August.

Ms Lane’s lawyer said that Mendte’s “criminal conduct” had made the attractive news presenter a “tabloid feeding frenzy”.

The twice-divorced Ms Lane vehemently denied any impropriety and sued Mendte for invasion of privacy and other grounds.

Mendte was fired in June after the FBI searched his home and office.

Ms Lane had been sacked five months earlier after a series of off-camera incidents, including a scuffle with a New York City police officer.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “WNBC Report on Alycia Lane arrest“, posted with vodpod
One Response to “Anchorbabe Email Hacker Sentenced”

  1. sdf said

    Fine way of explaining, and good paragraph to
    take data about my presentation focus, which i am going to present
    in school.

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
