A Different Kind of Blog

news and things sacred and irreverent put together by opinionated people.

Caveman and a scary movie

Posted by lawman2 on December 20, 2008

dre0307lYesterday, I decided to fly my wife for what we pilots call a $300.00 hamburger lunch…

Any  recreational pilot  will tell you if they go a week or two without their “high” they go a bit stir crazy…well that was me yesterday.  I awoke early and was feeling the need to be up high.  I awakened my wife and asked if she wanted to go for a ride, she smiled and pulled me into bed…

That wasn’t the kind of ride I was thinking about at the time, but hey I am a man….

Anyway, back to my story.  I talked my wife into going with me by making a bargain with her.  My wife hates to fly, and I hate watching scary movies….I promised to watch a scary movie with her when we arrived back home.   MY MISTAKE! 

I thought we had a great day!  I even refrained from doing any “stunts”, I really wanted her to have a good time.  Someday I want her to love flying controls2as much as I do.   I watched her close her eyes each time we took off, and each time we landed. I noticed the terrified look on her face every time I tried to engage her in conversation… The idea of plunging thousands of feet straight towards the ground and then exploding in a fireball seems to bring out the bourgeois fear of death in my wife. I felt so brave, knowing she trusted me enough to put her life in my hands.  She says she loves watching me do what I love, and knowing her fear of flying that says quite a bit to me.  She never has asked me not to fly, and always encourages me to do what I love, and when I am lucky she even goes with me!

When we arrived home she said we didn’t have to watch a scary movie…well I wanted to keep my word, so I insisted….BIG MISTAKE

She picked out THE movie.  It was called The Grudge.  She picked it because she said it was an older movie, and not too scary.  WHAT THE HELL?  I watched her reactions each time I jumped, or closed my eyes.  She sat calmly, and eyes wide open, and was even laughing at some of the parts.  She loved it, and I hated it!!!  

My little wife 5’5, 115 lbs slept like a baby all night long.  I on the other hand, 6’4, 250 lbs couldn’t get the damn movie out of my head.  Every now and then I had to check and make sure nobody else was in our bed with us…I WILL NOT WATCH ANOTHER SCARY MOVIE AGAIN.

The funny thing is over the years I have been known to be a bit of a dare devil, known to never back down from most any challenge, and yet deep down I guess I am just a wimp! My wife over comes her fear of flying all the time for me.  Damn I hate having to admit this but… my wife is braver and tougher than me!

You can read more caveman’s perspectives from lawman Just A Caveman 

8 Responses to “Caveman and a scary movie”

  1. tothewire said

    I love you! Don’t worry, no more scary movies for the caveman…lol

    Like

  2. kathy (kayms91) said

    oh.. that’s so funny… I haven’t watched a scary movie since I saw The Grudge several years ago!! That movie totally creeped me out and it took a long time to get it out of my mind! TTW.. you really picked a good one! The sound of the water dripping from the shower head STILL reminds me of the CREEPY sounds on the telephone in the movie!

    Like

  3. Lawman2 said

    so she knew it was really scary!go figure!guess she made her point…lol

    Like

  4. tothewire said

    See I am not braver than you, I just have faith!

    Like

  5. obama the antichrist said

    i am along with ttw that movie, i laughed alot during it. It was so stupid! and i hate scary movies! but the movie for me was IT [picture me crawling to the corner and entering into the fetal position shouting MOMMY MOMMY!] stupid steven king and all his stupid messed up crap!

    Like

  6. Lawman2 said

    never watched IT…think i will pass on it if you don’t mind lol

    Like

  7. Rj said

    NO, WATCH IT…IT CHANGED MY LIFE FOREVERMORE

    Like

  8. Lawman2 said

    will you mud wrestle in the nude with palin if i watch IT Rj? hehehe

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
