A Different Kind of Blog

news and things sacred and irreverent put together by opinionated people.

Caveman and the Kid

Posted by lawman2 on December 24, 2008

Today my wife and I went to spend some time with her parents.  Her mother has terminal cancer and has become increasingly weakened by her condition.  My wife has been spending a lot of time there helping her dad take care of  her.  Her dad had been taking care of her mother for quite a long time and the rest of us just didn’t know how sick her mother really was. 

dpgi0316Anyway, today my wife’s youngest nephew was there too, and he was getting bored…really bored like climbing the walls bored.  I could see the frustration in his mama’s eyes. So I thought I would score some brownie points with my wife and offer to take the kid to the airport, show him some planes, and just get him out of the house for awhile to give everyone else a break.

 

 

5ca0fddabca83oovgcabsh9exca8dq5w0ca98h0uxca7evu43cavys6l0caltxnhnca58z0sjcap472q0cafqts89caetr1f9capbvtkacamc0905ca0n0v0pcaxqz80ecaa1aylicalpcqsj I didn’t really think I would enjoy his company, as I have always thought  him to be a really whiny brat.  Are all 4 year olds whiny brats?  I don’t spend much time with kids so I really have no other kids to gage him by. 

 

 

 

rman2387lWell, he excitedly agreed to come a long with me, and I was surprised his mother allowed him to leave with the caveman.  Maybe deep down I only asked because I just knew his parents would say no…I don’t know, but maybe.   I felt my stomach turn a bit when they all readily agreed to my taking him off their hands.   I thought to myself shit caveman what have you went and got yourself into.  I don’t know anything about kids.  Hell I wasn’t even for sure the kid was potty trained.   My wife must have seen the terrified look on my face, because she came over to me and said softly “Don’t worry it isn’t like he is still in diapers, you’ll be fine.”  Then out loud she encouraged the boy with “Your going to have so much fun with your uncle Joe!”  

jha0085lI wasn’t looking forward to dragging this kid around with me, but after I learned all about how to seat buckle a kid in a booster seat, we were off.  He was in the back seat and was pretty quiet on the ride to our local and very small airport.  I think he was dreading our time together as much as I was.  But being a brave little boy he kept his chin up and eyes wide open the entire trip.

When we arrived there he looked around with his big eyes and said “Are you really a caveman?”  I was  expecting a comment about how cool the air planes were, or how big they looked but I didn’t let the kid know he threw me off…I looked him right in the eye “Yes I am.”    Now a look of icatp2rx2cac24bvgcayts2a6ca457b40cacuaiklca3hz7o7caujaq2dca2yxwa3cabvh0jmca31ycf2ca865ij6cax7692ica8os6fqcarnqwpecae2zhzrca95x1wccagutsvycaza43i8pure panic came across his face “Do cavemen eat kids?” I couldn’t help but chuckle at that one but tried to keep my somber face as I  answered “Only the bad ones.”   Now this is the funny part…”Uncle Joe, will you please eat my sister?” lol  I busted up then!  Just couldn’t help myself.  Decided right then and there, I like this kid, I really hope if I have a son he is just like this one!

6cavz64p7ca1rjxa8cacgo4rgcap0qvp5ca60qp1icapozd6fcam555tgcawdnia7caeqiz6bcax8mwy0cavohqsjca4wrj4oca1k4dclcaz1qhx2cahz56ueca1r3959caji1b7acaf261hyHe loved the planes and asked if I would take him up in one, so I decided to take him for just a short run around the landing strip (the weather wasn’t worth a shit for flying).  He loved it!  Now I can’t wait until a clear day to take the kid up high!  I found myself a co-pilot!  I had such a great time with my nephew, we went to Wal-Mart to check out the chicks… no really one of the local farmers had a bunch of baby chicks out in the parking lot he was selling pullets for 1.25 each.  I bought one for the kid, hey I thought it was safer than a puppy!   When we arrived home with a baby chick from Wal-Mart, a double cheese burger and Fries from Micky D’s, why his mama was so proud! NOT.  

When my wife and I were getting our coats on to leave the kid ran up to me and gave the ol’ caveman a hug and told me thank you and “I love you caveman, uncle Joe.”  I surprised myself when I replied “Hey kid I had a great day, and I love you too buddy.”  I looked over at my wife, and I saw she was lookin’ pretty proud of the caveman looking back at her.  Guess I scored some brownie points after all! hehehe

images17My wife and I now are proud owners of a baby chicken 😦  … but all in all the day was a really good day for me and the kid!

By the way, dogs don’t like baby chicks…

 

 

You can read more caveman’s perspectives from lawman Just A Caveman

20 Responses to “Caveman and the Kid”

  1. tothewire said

    When did you have time to add all these post lawman? Thank you! It looks great. AND yes you scored A LOT of brownie points!

    I am tired, so I won’t go read the rest of your post tonight but will tomorrow

    Like

  2. Lawman2 said

    i just had them all (except for this one) pre- scheduled to post before we left today.this one i just wrote in between your brother coming and my father calling…lol

    Like

  3. tothewire said

    by the way he isn’t my youngest nephew…lol

    Like

  4. Lawman2 said

    i am on to you tothewire…i read your comment to rj on the other post TALK ABOUT A BRAT!!!!

    anyway another great post before i forget to tell everyone about it is from jim @ http://bluecollarmanifesto.wordpress.com/2008/12/23/waco-revisited/

    Like

  5. tothewire said

    Oh no! Lawman is back on his waco kick. Did Jim post on this as well? Ok I will read, but not until tomorrow! Now let me finish my letter for tomorrow, as you know I HAVE TO BE THERE @ 9:00 AM and forgot to have my secretary do it for me. I AM SOOO TIRED IT IS TOO LATE FOR ME TO BE AWAKE!

    Like

  6. Lawman2 said

    my waco kick?it happens to be something that should be EVERYONES ‘KICK’ Our government HAS TOO MUCH CONTROL over WE THE PEOPLE and everyone keeps turning a blind eye,as if what they are going to eat for lunch is far more important.

    SO yes,i guess i am BACK on my waco kick…and i hope others climb on board!

    Like

  7. Lawman2 said

    hey my confused little sexy liberal wanna try and go make some little cavebabies now that i have put you in the mood with the whole waco kick? HEY I WILL EVEN SHUT DOWN THE LAP TOP…lol

    Like

  8. dorian9 said

    i always enjoy reading your posts, lawman – specially the a day in the life of a caveman posts. i like reading the waco ones too. i may not agree on the politics but hey, i’m never bored with your posts and that’s all i can ask for, specially since you do take the time and effort to post regularly. ttw, i think your caveman will make a great dad.and oh, what happens to the chick now that the dog turned down your offer? you should’ve rolled it around some hamburger meat first i’m sure you wouldn’t have heard a peep..oops that wasn’t nice. that was my twin’s idea hehe..

    Like

  9. justice4mothers said

    Everyone in the cave have a very Merry Christmas!

    Like

  10. Lawman2 said

    hehehe tothewire wouldn’t let me 😦 BUT that was so my first idea! that peepin thing kept my poor lady (my 100 lbs lap dog) up all night.bless her heart, she just wanted a mid night snack…lol

    Like

  11. Lawman2 said

    thank you justice! and merry christmas to you too!

    Like

  12. obama the antichrist said

    WAIT WAIT WAIT HOLD THE PHONE STOP THE PRESSES SIT DOWN AND SHUT UP!!!! I HAD NO IDEA THAT LAWMAN AND TTW WERE MARRIED!!!! o_O WELL….thats cool 🙂

    Like

  13. obama the antichrist said

    …i meant are not were cuz i assume you two are still married…

    Like

  14. Lawman2 said

    ota i dragged her to the alter dec 2nd! lol
    https://tothewire.wordpress.com/2008/12/03/the-caveman-takes-a-wife/

    Like

  15. Elaina said

    ROFL!! OMG too funny! I love it!

    Elaina
    http://sewducky.wordpress.com

    Like

  16. Lawman2 said

    thank you elaina!this was a nice comment to wake up to this morning…heading to your site now to check it out!

    Like

  17. Lawman2 said

    hey to all the ladies here…elaina sews AND bakes for her family! i want a boot sewn for my next year stocking!caveman club maybe? any of the ladies here up for the task? hehehe

    really liked your site elaina nice job! http://sewducky.wordpress.com

    Like

  18. centered2 said

    lol lawman!

    Like

  19. Elaina said

    Oh thank you so much for the kudos, Lawman!

    Like

  20. Lawman2 said

    why your welcome elaina!

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
