A Different Kind of Blog

news and things sacred and irreverent put together by opinionated people.

Eric Carle

Posted by Enkill_Eridos on March 20, 2009

                   This morning when I opened my web browser I saw that Google had Eric Carle do a first day of spring Google banner. I figured I would write something on this great children’s book writer. I read his books before I got into school and I was so entranced I started to enjoy reading. I read Dr. Seuss and a few other books before I started reading mini novels like the boxcar children, and a few others I do not remember. By first grade I was reading at a fifth grade level. Eric Carle’s books started my love for reading so when I saw Google’s banner I figured I would write a little about him and his books.

Google Banner designed by Eric Carle

Google Banner designed by Eric Carle

                  Eric Carle is best known for The Very Hungry Caterpillar. The Very Hungry Caterpillar was published in 1969 and had die cut pages. This story goes through the Caterpillar’s life cycle from egg to butterfly.  Most of Eric Carle’s books were done in the same fasion. He won many awards through out the years including the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award from the Association for Library Service to Children. If you want to know more about this brilliant man who’s books have caused many to enjoy reading his official website is below.

http://www.eric-carle.com/home.html

6 Responses to “Eric Carle”

  1. dorian9 said

    cool post, e-e!!the very hungry caterpillar is one of my favorite children’s books, also goodnight moon, the giving tree, dr. seuss..i give those books out as gifts for kids. it’s good to share love of books and reading. kids nowadays gravitate towards electronic games and tv/internet, it’s important that adults instill appreciation for reading books in kids while very young. making a big event out of taking kids to the library to check out books using their own library card is a good thing.

    Like

  2. okathleen said

    Spring has sprung….

    We completed a 6 mile walk in the beautiful Cheshire countryside.
    Snowdrops and lambs in profusion…

    http://www.okathleen.wordpress.com

    Like

  3. dorian9 said

    happy spring! will stop by your blog, okathleen…

    Like

  4. we love eric carle at our house too–and my son recognized it right away! that’s a very funy google he sad and gave me a wet kiss on the cheek

    Like

  5. Nikou said

    Hi there,

    This is a great blog of yours, Your site is very informative and I can relate to your posts. I’m also a housewife. I have just started my own blog: TheShanghaiExpat. Please feel free to visit and let me know what you think for a link exchange.

    Cheers,
    Nikou

    Like

  6. dorian9 said

    hi nikou,

    thanks for dropping by! those pictures of your delicious looking dishes make me want to go to shanghai. great tips on getting an ayi there. very few people here in the states can have that luxury. will spread the word on your nice blog, http://theshanghaiexpat.blogspot.com/ !!

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
