A Different Kind of Blog

news and things sacred and irreverent put together by opinionated people.

More movie musings

Posted by 1minionsopinion on November 13, 2009

I like movies, okay?

I don’t follow a lot of Twitter users, but I did click @SciFiHeaven which has turned out to be a good idea. Through that I found Wired’s article featuring Sci-fi movies of the 1960s and ’70s.

While I can’t say I’ve seen them all, I do have fond memories of Barbarella. I should watch that again. Duran Duran got the name for their band off that movie.

I recently saw A Clockwork Orange for the first time. It was an eye opener, and no mistake.

THX1138 was interesting, but I haven’t bothered watching it again. It’s interesting to note that Lucas has mentioned 1138 in every one of the movies he’s done since, though.

The Omega Man was cruddy compared to the original I Am Legend but better than the Will Smith version.

Dim recollections of watching The Andromeda Strain while on an a Michael Chricton kick. Probably worth another viewing.

The Stepford Wives impressed me when I watched it. I’d never watch the remake.

And Death Race 2000 was full of hilarious gore and pointless plot.

Others I’ve heard of but never seen, like Westworld and Fantastic Planet. I wonder if Flesh Gordon really is as good as it looks.

What movies would you put on the list as worthwhile futuristic/science fic time wasters?

26 Responses to “More movie musings”

  1. Enkill_Eridos said

    Clockwork Orange was okay, but did not compare to the book.

    Like

  2. 1minionsopinion said

    Few movies do. I haven’t read the book for that one. I did read I am Legend, though. The first movie actually had input from the author in order to get a more true-to-tale movie out of it.

    Like

  3. dorian said

    yay, sci-fi movies! imo the 60s and 70s had the best. soylent green, westworld, andromeda strain, fantastic voyage, stepford wives some of my faves. sci-fi movie remakes are never as good as the original. don’t know why they bother. i guess it’s capitalising on the box office potential? anyway, i subscribe to wired magazine – geek confession. here’s an older post on sci-fi movies. sourced fr. wired: https://tothewire.wordpress.com/2009/09/01/wired-magazines-favorite-sci-fi-flicks-of-all-time/

    minion is our official movie maven. i’m deferring the movie posts to you. encore, encore!

    Like

  4. Enkill_Eridos said

    Oh I forgot to post that THX is one of the coolest movies, but I can see Humanity actually going more towards Equilibrium.

    Like

  5. princessxxx said

    vincent price did an “i am legend” called “the last man on earth.

    “flesh gordon” was corny but fun.

    david lynch’s “eraserhead” is great because it is so insane.

    i love the movie “robert gucciones Caligula” the xxx version. my favorite family values movie.

    Like

  6. 1minionsopinion said

    I watched Eraserhead in fast-forward because it wasn’t necessary to watch it at normal speed. Thanks for the title correction for the Vincent Price movie. My brain wasn’t in gear at the time, I guess. Not Sci Fi, but Vincent Price related – he had bit parts reading poetry in a very fun and low budget show called Hilarious House of Frightenstein. Youtube has a few bits from the show. It was a Saturday morning ritual for me to be up in time to watch that. 6am it aired.

    Um, Fantastic Voyage wasn’t too bad. Day of the Triffids sucked buckets (it’s a fave movie), and there’s always Forbidden Planet and The Blob and Them! and other silliness. I wish I could get ahold of more Mystery Science Theatre 3000 shows.

    Like

  7. 1minionsopinion said

    Er, not a fave movie, but a fave book. Again with the failing brain matter. I was up at 3am. More sleep is desired but I have work.

    Like

  8. princessxxx said

    yes, gore vidal was so upset with gucciones caligula he had his name dropped from all of it and i’m not sure but threatened legal action.

    Like

  9. princessxxx said

    1minionsopinion, i would like to recommend a great book, if you haven’t already read it.

    “andy warhol’s diaries” i only like to read biographies and autobiographies, and this is the best ever. it has everything, celebrities, dignataries, presidents, socialites, art, money, world travel, sex drugs rock and roll ,and in my opinion the best philosophy on life. i read it 4 times.

    i wish someone would make it into a movie.

    Like

  10. princessxxx said

    rob zombies “house of a 1000 corpses” another family values pic.

    Like

  11. princessxxx said

    the omega man was charlton heston,
    it was controversial for its time as heston made out with a black woman.

    Like

  12. kay~ms said

    Death Race 2000 was a great movie… I actually developed a crush on Sylvester Stallone. I was so excited when I leaned that Rocky was coming out not too long after that. I think I saw Rocky over 10 times in the theater.

    I wish I was more into sci fi movies… I do love the movie Blade Runner.

    Other movies I remember from that time thanks to HBO ( it had just come out)…

    The Day of the Dolphin
    The Reincarnation of Peter Proud
    Monty Python and the Holy Grail
    Dirty Mary and Crazy Larry
    Coming Home

    Like

  13. dorian said

    i didn’t see the day of the dolphin – i googled, sounds like a good one.

    i like the rocky movies too, the first two more than the others.

    kay, check out those sci-fi movies in minion’s links – if you liked blade runner, you’d like the others too. they’re showing them on t.v. once in awhile.

    Like

  14. Enkill_Eridos said

    THX1138 can be played on Netflix.

    Like

  15. 1minionsopinion said

    And yet I HATE! HATE! Bladerunner. I don’t get what makes it good! I don’t get it! I would love to love it! I like the actors, the concepts, and the style, but mix it all together and it still doesn’t excite me. I’m truly mystified by that. I like Fifth Element and GalaxyQuest (much lulz) and I also like The Thirteenth Floor. Maybe not as well known or liked as Matrix but just as good a thinker film. Primer was very cool in a confusing kind of way. Low budget but high brow. I think Existenz is fantastic. Gattica was great. Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow. Dark City was worth watching twice, too. There’s also a French movie that’s so weird it can’t be ignored – City of Lost Children. It simply has to be seen.

    Like

  16. Enkill_Eridos said

    Mark Hammil movies after Star Wars gives me much lulz you can see the strings and everything. Wing Commander was good. The Babylon 5 movies (The original and the made for TV) was cool. The original Star Trek movies. Jason X, was funny. Leprechaun in space was just silly. The Prophecy series was good (Christopher Walkin the best bad guy ever) Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure series and the cartoon. Judge Dredd. These are just some of my favorite Sci-fi movies.

    Like

  17. princessxxx said

    i finally watched “drag me to hell” last nite, twice.

    i really liked it becuase it was signature raimi.

    many references to “evil dead” “evil dead 2” and “army of darkness”.

    raimi loves spewing the blood, gore and puss, there were buckets of it.
    he also seems to have a fetish for shoving things down peoples throats, haha

    a kitten has two really great scenes.

    Like

  18. 1minionsopinion said

    I haven’t been able to get through any of those Bruce Campbell movies. I think they’re dumb. But I appreciate Bruce Campbell. I love Bubba Hotep, and his character on Burn Notice. He’s very entertaining.

    Like

  19. princessxxx said

    Like

  20. Enkill_Eridos said

    I didn’t like the kitten scene. It made me cry a little. but I love my cats most of the time. I laughed at the Ending.

    Like

  21. Enkill_Eridos said

    Just watched Zombieland and I have to say, 10 stars. It’s funny as hell and it will help you survive the Zombie Apocalypse that is coming. Rule #1 and 2 are by far the most important.

    Like

  22. Enkill_Eridos said

    Woody Harrelson is who I would be in the Zombie Apocalypse, keep by me and you will see zombies die left and right. Just don’t eat my twinkee’s XD

    Like

  23. princessxxx said

    i can’t wait to hear your review of l4d2.

    i really can’t afford it,
    but i’m a bitchy, uptight critical personality type that likes to be alone anyway,
    i’m playing ballad of gay tony.

    Like

  24. princessxxx said

    oh, 1minionsopinion, i watched “primer” last nite and, well,
    i’m glad the actors where cute and

    ….i got lost and that was before i got the weed.
    plus the actors, always in the dark pants with white shirts and ties.
    they looked so wholesome, all i could think of where mormons.

    Like

  25. Enkill_Eridos said

    aww, its okay I probably will not be playing l4d2 until l4d3 is a few months from coming out. Zombieland had like five people, six if you counted the last zombie encounter. But it was still so freaking funny. It really is an epic movie I will be watching again and again. I don’t like to play games that remind me of the pending Zombie Apocolypse. Of course I already know how I would survive it. First get in a car and drive to the nearest Hardware store, and pawn shop. Take all the guns, Wal-Mart will be too crowded and will possibly have zombies in it. I would not be entering there with out a gun. Now I am going to work on Rule #1, I will also be talking the wife into working on it as well.

    Like

  26. Princessxxx said

    that sounds like a great idea,
    but we should probably get rid of the mormons first.

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
