A Different Kind of Blog

news and things sacred and irreverent put together by opinionated people.

Archive for November 21st, 2009

Protecting kids goes beyond skin deep

Posted by 1minionsopinion on November 21, 2009

Now that I’ve joined a Freethinkers group, I’m meeting a lot of new people. Some I doubt I’ll have much in common with outside the group’s raison d’etre, but others I could see hanging out with fairly often. Today, as it happens, I had lunch with one of the gals. She’s a married mother of two with both kids under 7 and hasn’t gotten either of them vaccinated for flu, H1N1, or anything else.

I’m appalled by this growing trend, frankly. The whole point of vaccination is to keep childhood death at a minimum, is it not? They’d never take their kids in a car these days without protection from fender benders (special chairs, harnesses, seat belts, etc) but they won’t protect their immune systems from preventable diseases? Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in Opinion, Science | 18 Comments »