A Different Kind of Blog

news and things sacred and irreverent put together by opinionated people.

Archive for March 19th, 2010

IT’S JUST NOT ABOUT HATE

Posted by kayms99 on March 19, 2010

I was thinking about my comments last night on Steven Weber’s post, thinking about this subject.
I realized that I had probably come across as insensitive and ignorant about some of the truly desparate situations concerning this issue.  I thought about my own experience. 

I was a teenager and unmarried when I got pregnant. And I was terrified. My daughter’s father, being young himself was not very receptive to the idea of becoming a father.  He wanted me to get an abortion.

 Not only was I looking at the most terrifying personal dilemma ever in my life (that only a woman can fully understand) I had realized that he (the father) had lied to me.. clearly, he didn’t truly love me like he claimed he did… I was alone.  I became even more terrified.  Even then, as a teenager I knew abortion was out of the question.  But, in order to receive some kind of desparately needed immediate emotional comfort,  I pretended to agree.

The next day when it was officially confirmed that I was pregnant, my daughter’s father came thru and did the right thing. WE did the right thing. His Christian upbringing, I’m sure, had a lot to do with his decision. I know I was one of the “lucky” ones.  I realized that again last night.  I thought, what if he hadn’t “come thru”?  I’m sure I would have continued living with my parents and raised my daughter on my own. But, what if my parents were not supportive, what if I hadn’t had that option either? I do understand COMPLETELY that with each step it gets harder and harder to resist the quick and “easy” way out.  But, there is help, there are programs and church organizations, there ARE OTHER OPTIONS. It may not be easy, it may be a scary and lonely road to go down but it IS the best choice.. it IS the right thing to do for EVERYONE.  Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in Debate, Politics, Religion | 186 Comments »

Stem Cells make ‘Milestone moment’ Possible

Posted by dorian on March 19, 2010

(PA) The stem cells are now reconstructing the airway and ensuring it is not rejected by his immune system

From Times Online
March 20, 2010

‘Milestone moment’ as boy undergoes transplant to regenerate trachea

Sam Lister, Health Editor

A British boy has undergone a groundbreaking operation involving the transplantation of a windpipe which is being regenerated inside his body using his own stem cells.

Scientists described the operation, carried out on Monday at Great Ormond Street Hospital in London, as a ‘milestone moment’ in the development of techniques that could allow people to rebuild damaged or transplanted organs inside their bodies.

The replacement trachea, the bony tube that connects the nose, mouth and lungs, was stripped of the donor’s cells to leave a scaffold which was then laced with the child’s stem cells. The boy, aged 10, then received the transplant hours later. The stem cells are now reconstructing the airway and ensuring it is not rejected by his immune system. Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in Educational, Good News, Health, Nature, Technology | 1 Comment »