A Different Kind of Blog

news and things sacred and irreverent put together by opinionated people.

Archive for November 18th, 2009

Pirates foiled in their second attack on Maersk Alabama cargo ship

Posted by dorian on November 18, 2009

Maersk Alabama (AP Photo)

November 18, 2009 1:00 p.m. EST

CNN Video

(CNN) — A U.S.-flagged ship that played a central role in a bloody hijacking drama last spring was attacked again Wednesday, a busy day for piracy in the dangerous waters off the east coast of Africa.

The Maersk Alabama came under automatic weapons fire from pirates about 350 nautical miles east of the Somali coast, the European Union’s anti-piracy force said, but fought the attackers off. Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in Crime, international news, notorious | Tagged: , , | 4 Comments »

Tis the season for the carols, but…

Posted by 1minionsopinion on November 18, 2009

Who takes the time to look up orgins of them? Well, I did. Here’s a post I did for my own blog about Greensleeves and What Child is This:

The Christmas season is on the doorstep singing the classics so I thought it might be interesting to do a series on the origin of some of the more popular carols.

Let’s start with the reworking of the folk song, Greensleeves.

Alas, my love, you do me wrong,
To cast me off discourteously.
For I have loved you well and long,
Delighting in your company.

Chorus:
Greensleeves was all my joy
Greensleeves was my delight,
Greensleeves was my heart of gold,
And who but my lady greensleeves.

Your vows you’ve broken, like my heart,
Oh, why did you so enrapture me?
Now I remain in a world apart
But my heart remains in captivity.

chorus

I have been ready at your hand,
To grant whatever you would crave,
I have both wagered life and land,
Your love and good-will for to have.

etc…

There are a lot more lyrics about all the things he gives her but I’ll skip to the ending – he doesn’t get the girl and he apparently dies still hoping she’ll change her mind. I used to think the song was romantic. Now I think it’s just plain sad. This chick totally let him spend money on her and gave him nothing in return. And still he loved her. Courtly love is a bitch.

History is mixed with mystery for the origins of this song. Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in about music and musicians, Entertainment | 8 Comments »

This Kid is SOOO Cute :D

Posted by obama the antichrist on November 18, 2009

Posted in Politics | 6 Comments »

‘Teabagger’ was an Oxford Word of the Year finalist.

Posted by princessxxx on November 18, 2009

http://thinkprogress.org/2009/11/16/teabagger-oxford-finalist/

In February, when conservatives began protesting against President Obama with tea parties, the Washington Independent’s Dave Weigel photographed a protester carrying a sign that declared, “tea bag the liberal Dems before they tea bag you!!” Soon after, the term “tea bagger” became a ubiquitous and often derogatory handle for right-wing protesters. Now, Mediaite reports that the term “teabagger” was a finalist in consideration to be the New Oxford American Dictionary’s Word of the Year: Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in Announcements, Comedy, Educational, Huh??, Just for Fun, Opinion, Politics, wtf | 5 Comments »

Keith Olbermann Goes After Sarah Palin’s Lies

Posted by princessxxx on November 18, 2009

SARAH PALIN CAUGHT IN LIES WITH HER OWN WORDS

WHY DO THESE “CHRISTIANS” LIE?

Posted in Comedy, conspiracy theories, Debate, Educational, Entertainment, hall of shame, Huh??, notorious, Opinion, Politics, Religion, wtf | 19 Comments »